

CENTRAL DISTRICT HEALTH BOARD OF HEALTH | MINUTES 707 N. Armstrong Place, Boise, ID 83704 | Syringa Conference Room Friday, April 21, 2023 | 8:30 a.m.

View meetings live at: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC4LJ1BM5Jv3zczecnYkXarw/

I. IN THE MATTER OF CALL TO ORDER

Betty Ann Nettleton, Board Chair, called the Central District Health (CDH) Board of Health meeting to order at 8:30 a.m.

II. IN THE MATTER OF ROLL CALL

The Board of Health members were identified by roll call: Betty Ann Nettleton, RN (Ret), Chair; Dr. Jane Young; Raúl Labrador; Dr. Ryan Cole; Commissioner Clay Tucker; Representative Megan Blanksma, V-Chair; and Commissioner Elt Hasbrouck, Trustee.

Staff: Russell A. Duke, District Director; Donna Mahan, Recorder; Laurel McMahan; Stephanie Myers; and Maria Ortega

ACTION ITEMS:

III. CHANGES TO THE AGENDA

The agenda stands as presented.

IV. IN-PERSON PUBLIC COMMENTS

No public comments were provided today.

V. NEW BUSINESS

1. Vote on minutes from March 17, 2023 board meeting by Betty Ann Nettleton, Board Chair

Chair Nettleton asked for approval of the March minutes as presented.

Motion: Commissioner Elt Hasbrouck motioned to approve March 17, 2023 board meeting minutes as presented. Seconded by Dr. Jane Young. No further discussion. By roll call vote, Dr. Jane Young, Raúl Labrador, Dr. Ryan Cole, Commissioner Clay Tucker, Representative Megan Blanksma, and Commissioner Elt Hasbrouck voted yes. Motion carried.

 Enter Executive Session under Idaho Code 74-206(1)(b) "To consider the evaluation, dismissal or disciplining of, or to hear complaints or charges brought against, a public officer, employee, staff member or individual agent, or public school student." by Betty Ann Nettleton, Board Chair.

Chair Betty Ann Nettleton requested to go into executive session.

Ada & Boise Counties 707 N. Armstrong Pl. Boise, ID 83704 208-375-5211

Elmore County 520 E. 8th N. Mountain Home, ID 83647 208 587 4407 **Valley County** 703 1st St. McCall, ID 83638 208 634 7194

Enter executive session at 8:34 a.m. by motion and roll call.

Motion: Commissioner Elt Hasbrouck moved to go into executive session under Idaho Code 74-206(1)(b) "To consider the evaluation, dismissal or disciplining of, or to hear complaints or charges brought against, a public officer, employee, staff member or individual agent, or public school student." Seconded by Raúl Labrador. By roll call vote, Dr. Jane Young, Raúl Labrador, Dr. Ryan Cole, Commissioner Clay Tucker, Representative Megan Blanksma, and Commissioner Elt Hasbrouck voted yes. Motion carried.

Back in regular session at 9:35 a.m.

3. Provide and review the FY-2023 Financial Report by Laurel McMahan, Support Services Division Administrator

The FY-2023 Budget to Actual for March 2023 report reflected that we are 75% through this budget fiscal year. Total revenues are at 84% of the budget. Fees are 80%, contracts are 85%, and county contributions are 81%. Total expenditures are at 68%. Personnel costs are 74%, and operating costs are 60%. Capital costs are 2%, and trustee & benefits costs are 56%.

The FY-2023 Cash Balance Statement and Reserve Report at the end of March reflected a total cash balance of \$11,488,318. The total reserve fund designations are \$4,505,880 with an undesignated cash balance of \$3,480,312, including restricted funds of \$3,502,127.

4. Review and vote on the CDH FY-2024 proposed budget by Russ Duke, District Director

Russ Duke presented the proposed FY-2024 budget, which includes a 3% increase in the county contribution, and he addressed the board's comments and inquiries.

Motion: Commissioner Elt Hasbrouck motioned to approve the proposed draft FY-2024 budget as presented. Seconded by Commissioner Clay Tucker. No further. By roll call vote, Dr. Jane Young, Raúl Labrador, Dr. Ryan Cole, Commissioner Clay Tucker, Representative Megan Blanksma, and Commissioner Elt Hasbrouck voted yes. Motion carried.

5. Discuss potential resolutions to be presented at the Idaho Association of District Boards of Health (IADBH) annual meeting by Russ Duke, District Director

The resolutions that will be considered at IADBH are the Resolution to Remove the Food Establishment License Fee in Idaho Code and the Resolution to Support the Increase of Collaboration, Funding, and Access to Life Saving Tools to Prevent and Reduce Fentanyl Overdose and Poisoning, which Russ Duke briefly summarized. These resolutions were written by Public Health District 3.

6. Discuss and vote on local government investment pools for public health.

No action is being taken due to Idaho Code 39-422 defining how public health funds are to be invested and a desire by the board to learn more about possible options. This topic will be discussed by the Executive Council during the Idaho Association of Local Boards of Health annual meeting.

7. District Director's report to include IADBH, budget meeting schedule, and upcoming elections in May by Russ Duke, District Director

IADBH: Make plans to attend the IADBH conference, which will be held from June 8–10 in Coeur d'Alene, or submit a proxy form to authorize another board member to vote on your behalf at the meeting.

Budget Meeting Schedule: Russ will meet with each county commission between April 24 and May 11 to review the proposed FY-2024 budget. The Budget Committee meeting will occur at our Elmore County Office on May 12 at 10:00 a.m.

Board Elections: The board chair, vice chair, and trustee positions will be up for election at the upcoming board meeting.

VI. ADJOURNMENT

The next Board of Health meeting will be on Friday, May 12, 2023, starting at 10:00 a.m. at our Elmore County Office in Mountain Home following the Budget Committee meeting. The board adjourned at 11:03 a.m.

Motion: Dr. Jane Young motioned to adjourn the meeting. Seconded by Commissioner Elt Hasbrouck. No further discussion. By roll call vote, Dr. Jane Young, Raúl Labrador, Dr. Ryan Cole, Commissioner Clay Tucker, Representative Megan Blanksma, and Commissioner Elt Hasbrouck voted yes. Motion carried.

Attest:

Betty Ann Nettleton Board Chair

Date approved: May 12, 2023

Russell A. Duke, District Director Secretary to the Board